The man had to write…

It was one of the first things I noticed about him.  Not the very first thing – I think the very first thing I noticed is that he looked better in just a plain white T-shirt and jeans than any guy I knew.  One of the next things was his peaceful quietness that made me feel calm and protected.  When we first got together (and many times after that) he would sit quietly while I went about the house doing things and he would just quietly play his guitar and just make me feel good that he was there.  Eventually, though,  I would see some kind of internal strength that would surface only if he had a reason to be protective; he could be fierce and determined and quite frightening if he had to be.  I never had to see him actually use his strength and any real anger to protect us but I could feel it around the edges when he felt challenged and I knew that we had nothing to worry about.

 Last Saturday, after we lost him on Friday evening, his son, his daughter and my daughter all went through things that he had written over the years. A majority of it was poetry – some that he wrote before I met him and some that he wrote after I met him but it was all so bittersweet…it made me fall in love with him all over again.  The past couple of years that he’s had his blog site have been so special to him.  So many mornings, I’d wake to hear the clicking of his fingers against the keyboard…he always loved a keyboard that had a certain kick-back to it and it was calming for me to hear him in the distance.  I knew that he was doing one of the things that he so loved to do.  It was a perfect outlet for Ray – he could use just a few minutes to write something or sometimes take an entire day, on and off, to come up with the perfect post for the day.  Sometimes sarcastic, sometimes funny, sometimes insightful and many times (like when he’s describing specific cameras or film stylings), he would completely lose me.  

 I just want to thank each of you that have read his blogs whether or not you ever commented on them or not.  He loved telling me that he’d had 17 hits from Finland or that he was now in touch with a woman in Great Britain that has some form of selling cool, unique things (you know who you are).  You have filled up his life these past couple of years with a great purpose for him…a way to express himself that was important.  He loved to write and just as important, he loved to be read. 

 I echo his daughter, Megan, that I will refer back to his posts from time to time to hear his “voice”, and I invite you to do the same.  No matter what he wrote, it was all very much Ray and they were all things that he just wanted to share with you.  Even though he wasn’t on facebook much, I hope you don’t mind if I share this post on facebook so that friends that may have not been familiar with his blog site may now wish to check it out.  The address is https://rralexander.wordpress.com.  I’m sorry that I’m not including a photo with this.  I’m really not sure I even know how to post it and getting a photo included is beyond me right now.   Just know that I will love him and miss him forever but his words and his generosity of spirit will continue to be present and appreciated.  Take care…  

