’76 Husqvarna 250 WR

This 1976 Husqvarna 250 WR is yet another bike owned and lovingly restored to running condition by Fritz Harmon.

My grandson and I were wandering around the parking lot behind Tuxies during the Cruise Night. We had both digital and film cameras in hand. He was shooting a roll of Kodak Tri-X 400 with the Nikon N90s and I was using the Lumix G1, since I wanted to shoot color for a change.

When I picked him up from school earlier I told him about going to the Cruise Night and asked him what camera he wanted to shoot, since his Minolta X 700 was at home. He picked one of the Nikons, so we went to my house, grabbed that camera and loaded it with a roll of Tri-X, since it was the only roll of film at room temperature. Back in the car, rolling toward Tuxies, he held the camera case on his lap. “Was that black and white film we put in this?”

“Yeah. A 400 speed film.”

“Oh, good.”

Across the lot from where we parked I could see a patch of yellow among the distant rows of painted metal when we started walking though the large parking lot. I pointed the yellow out and said, “That might be the pickup truck of a guy named Fritz. We’ll see when we get over there. He always has an interesting motorcycle in the back of the truck.”

We worked our way toward that side of the lot. He was going to town with the film camera, often shooting two frames of something “just in case”. I reminded him that we only had one roll of film with us, but it didn’t change the way he was shooting. He was being fairly selective about what cars he wanted to shoot, anyway.

When we got close to the truck he looked at the motorcycle sitting in the back. “That’s a Husqvarna, isn’t it?” He asked.

“I think so.”

“Looks like the one Malcolm Smith used to ride.” He said.

When we got to the truck I introduced him to Fritz and we shot several frames with the G1, since the Nikon was out of film.

“You always have them running when you bring them out in the truck, right?” I asked Fritz.

“Yeah.” He said, “That one is running. I think it is the same model as the one that Malcolm Smith rode when he won the Elsinore. It’s a nice desert racer, though you wouldn’t want to use it for that today. It only has 3 inches of fork travel and that’s on the front”.

I like that Fritz only brings running machines to show in public. And the back of his pickup truck is a good display platform.

