Lower Colorado Desert

At 4:30 am on Saturday morning I was suddenly awake, up, and moving. While I stoked the coffee pot, I was struck by the sudden urge to fire up the Road Star and ride. There was nothing unusual about that. It happens quite frequently. I had the idea that I should go out to Joshua Tree, an area that is difficult to over visit. I drank my coffee and gave the sudden idea the appropriate thought  

Though the best time for photographs is at sunrise, it is a ninety mile ride, so there was no way that I’d arrive in time for the first horizontal stream of light. But the light later in the morning is acceptable, so I packed and rode the bike out of the driveway at 5:18. As I rode toward the park I considered something that Tim Devantier mentioned a couple times in recent months: That we nearly always enter the park from the north and it might be a good idea to enter it from the south to get different viewpoints. That seemed like a good idea, so I rode a 244-mile loop through Indio, the Park, then returned home through Yucca Valley. Tim was right. 

These photographs, made with a Panasonic G1, are all from the Colorado Desert, sometimes called the Lower Colorado Desert, portion of Joshua Tree National Park.

