River City Lights

P1130407 WP

These photographs were made with a Panasonic Lumix DMC-FX01 from Mount Rubidoux in Riverside, California. For a few years I was in the habit of walking the mountain nearly every morning. I haven’t done that for quite a while now. The “improvements” to the trail and park and the attendant saturated publicity have turned the small mountain into an ongoing event that reminds me of Disneyland, though not in a good way. Another factor that has kept me away from the mountain of late is my advancing age: I’ve developed sciatica which adds some minor pain to my hiking experiences, so my hikes are shorter now.

P1140460 WP

The Lumix point and shoot was quite handy to take with me because it was small and light. I also liked to way it handled photographs in bright daylight and there was no loss of color saturation in the predawn darkness as you can see in these photographs.

P1140495 WP

