Southwestern Views

DSC_0970 WP

My grandson and I were in the car driving across the city toward Fairmount Park, where we were going to shoot film with our SLRs. It would be the first roll of film he would shoot with his Minolta X 700 SLR. We had loaded a roll of film into the Minolta before setting off.

We were going to stop at a local grocery store to pick up a loaf of inexpensive bread to feed to the various ducks and geese at the park’s lakes. The bread would guarantee that we’d get a lot of close up photos of the waterfowl. He was holding his camera case between his knees as we rolled down the street. He didn’t seem to want to let go of it.

“Was that color film we loaded in my camera?” he asked.

“No.” I said. “It’s black and white.”

“Oh, good. I like black and white. It’s different.”

“Yeah. I like it too.” I said. “And we can develop and scan it at my house later. With color, we’d have to wait a couple days to get it back.”

“Good.”

I liked his attitude and I knew perfectly well that if he didn’t like black and white photographs, he would tell me.

But I know that some of you aren’t like that. Some of you are addicts. Color addicts. With that in mind, I’m going to publish some color photographs during the next three days. Just for you (and you know who you are). I have some things to do this weekend that will preclude me from getting black and white film prepared for the blog. And I don’t want you color addicts to go into withdrawals…

This post features photographs from a motorcycle trip I took into Arizona and Utah in 2009. All photos were made with my Nikon D200.

DSC_1003 WP

The two photos above were made in Capitol Reef. The bottom two photos are from Monument Valley.

DSC_0788 WP

DSC_0823 WP

