More Coffee

P1110798 WP

Back in September of last year I had to travel to the Finger Lakes Region of New York State to take care of my mother’s estate. I was there for six days (photos from that period can be seen here and here) and I made one or two trips to Dunkin’ Donuts for the excellent coffee every day. There are no Dunkin’ Donuts stores on the West Coast that I know of, and I missed them when I was back in Southern California.

I drank tea at home and didn’t have a coffee pot at home then, or for many years before. I’d go get coffee at the 7-11 convenience store once a week or so. It was something of a treat. The 7-11 had the best coffee in the city, from my viewpoint (I drink coffee black and can taste the real flavor because there isn’t a pile of additives in it).

During the holidays everything shifted.

We received the coffee machine pictured above as a gift. I tried a few of the sample blends that came with the machine, none of which were exactly what I wanted in a cup of coffee. We finally got a refillable K-cup and some Dunkin’ Donuts coffee. Once I determined the correct amount of coffee, I was all set. Now I’m back to drinking coffee most of the time after several years of only having it occasionally. I’m not entirely sure if that is a good thing, but I’m enjoying it. So far…

