Shadow and Light

DSC_0745 WP

Of late, output has been somewhat slow here at Crossings headquarters. But there’s a bit more to it than the simple distractions surrounding the yearly holidays. 

Shadowing the season for me has been the memories of people who have gone into the void, into the next world. My mother died in September. I can still hear the warmth of her voice, and probably always will. A good friend, Eric Solum, moved on a few years ago as he was engaged in one of his favorite activities; watching sports on television while drinking a beer. My brother Joseph left this world 23 years ago and I wonder what he would be like now, if still alive. What things would we have done, what would we have shared if he was still here.

A considerable amount of mental time has also been allotted to the older grandchildren, a boy and a girl both at the beginning of their ninth years. I don’t seem to ever feel that I’ve had enough time to spend with them. Another family arrival, a granddaughter, was born in early October of this year. Less than three months old, she is already a joy as she slowly reveals different facets of her personality. I’m also looking forward to meeting another granddaughter who is due to arrive during the next couple weeks.

So it would be safe to say that I’ve been preoccupied lately by the Great Mandala, the circle of life, death, and rebirth. It is the endless cycle pointed to by the Buddha when he held up a lotus for his followers to contemplate. Five hundred years later, Jehovah also pointed to the cycle, saying, “Consider the lilies of the field and how they grow”.

No doubt my distraction will wane somewhat in a couple weeks and I’ll produce more frequent blog posts, but for a time, the photograph shown here with it’s interplay between shadow and light will have to do as a placeholder.

