Zion: Film Resurrection

In May of this year Tim Devantier and I rode our Road Star motorcycles up to Cedar City, Utah to film the Annular Solar EclipseIt was the first annular eclipse in the continental U.S. since the solar eclipse of May 10, 1994. As always, click on a thumbnail to see the larger version of a photograph.

Luckily, we had booked motel rooms several weeks in advance, since the estimate for Cedar City for that weekend was an additional 30,000 people.

It was a good three day ride – it is nearly always good to get on the motorcycle for a multiple-day ride. From separate locations, east and west of the city, we each captured a few digital frames of the eclipse. A related story from that ride, can be read at Lewis and Clark, I Presume

Unfortunately for my single roll of Kodak Gold 100, loaded in the Nikon SLR, I underestimated how hot it would get riding between St. George, Utah and Barstow, California.

Because I was focused on shooting the eclipse with the digital camera, I didn’t give the roll of film much thought. And the daytime temperatures in the deserts had been hovering in the mid-eighties for a couple weeks.

The temperatures cranked up, of course, when we started riding, particularly on the return run through the Las Vegas, Nevada area.

As I recounted in Heat Versus Film, the film cooked. The results from the photo lab were not pretty. The colors in the negatives were washed out.

Since then, I’ve occasionally looked at the digital files from the washed out, cooked negatives, thinking that it is too bad that some of the frames were ruined by my negligence.

Taking advantage of the color restoration function of the scanner and a little bit of tweaking with software today (October 24, 2012), I’ve been able to restore a few of the frames I made in Zion National Park.

It was something of a pain. You can safely bet I won’t be restoring cooked film again anytime soon…

