Field Test: Winpro 35

The images shown here are direct from the Winpro 35 mentioned in Vintage Lomography: Winpro 35.

I loaded the camera up a few days ago with an old roll of Kodak Gold 200 (24 frames) that I’d kept in the refrigerator for approximately 3 years. I’m not particularly fond of Gold 200, which is why it sat so long in the cooler, but it fit the bill for a test of the inexpensive camera, particularly since it only cost me $7 at an estate sale.

I shot a few frames on the roll, then turned it over to my 8-year-old granson for further field testing. I knew he would be a good tester. Like my granddaughter who is the same age, he has been making photographs since he was two years old. That is three quarters of their lifetimes. They began shooting with my Panasonic Lumix FX-01, then graduated to Samsung point and shoots a few years ago. He now shoots with a Panasonic Lumix  that is very advanced compared to the old FX-01. She shoots with her iPad most of the time.

When he finished off the roll, he brought the camera back to me and since it wasn’t obvious how to rewind the film back into the cassette (there were no instructions on that operation on the original literature),  I opened it in a changing bag, then stumbled upon the rewind procedure. I had the roll developed and printed at Costco over the weekend.

The test was successful. We had the following findings.

1. The camera is still operational and makes photographs. That was somewhat surprising, since as near as I can tell it was manufactured in 1954.

2. The fixed focus 40mm lens is fairly low quality. No surprise there.

3. It only really works “well” in bright daylight.

4. It is easy to produce double and triple exposures (see the photo to the left), since the shutter fires independently of the primitive rewind mechanism.

