Hidden Valley

This photograph is from the Hidden Valley Wildlife Area in Riverside, CA. I made it with the Nikon D200 and Nikon 18-105mm VR lens in December of 2010, but never published it on this blog. Instead, I placed it in a directory on the hard drive, a directory that I frequently return to, in order to view certain photographs. It remained there for over a year and a half. 

There is something I like about it, though I don’t consciously know why.

In the middle distance, dual diagonal lines created by dirt trails split the vertical frame. Just beyond the diagonals is an area used by an equestrian group, though I don’t know what for, since I’ve never been to the area when more than one horseman was present. Beyond the equestrian area, the snow-capped peak of Mount San Jacinto, nearly 40 miles away peeks over the green hill.

The Hidden Valley Wildlife Area in the Santa Ana River Corridor is part of a major flyway for various waterfowl. Behind the camera is a gated entrance to the reserve. The area is open at 7:00 am, then closed between 4:30 and 6:00 pm, depending on the season. When I visit the area, I typically arrive just before sunrise, park the motorcycle outside the gate, then hike up the hill where I shot this. This was made during a rare time when I arrived in the middle of the day. 

Metadata: f/8, 1/200 second, 28mm focal distance. 

