Primitive Kingdom

Slowly, slowly, I’ve been scanning and archiving old family prints and negatives in small batches. The photographs are from both my wife’s and my family’s caches. Given the way it is progressing, it may take several years to work my way through what we have.

My family’s photos are primarily prints. Lisa’s family photos are mostly in negative form. That’s just the way it worked out. It is better, of course, to have the negatives, since they last longer.

The most recent batch was Pauly family, Lisa’s family photos recovered from medium format (6X6) negatives. The snapshots were made by David Pauly, the photographer featured in an earlier post, From The Storage Unit, which showed a few of the photographs he made in the Pacific Theater of World War Two.

There are two primary reasons why I found the photos shown here interesting; I like looking at square, 6X6 (2.25″ X 2.25″) format photos and they are early photos of Disneyland.

These photos were stored in an envelope from the film processor and were apparently on the same 24-frame roll of 220 film as photos of one of Lisa’s birthday parties. The visual information indicates that the Disneyland photos were made around April, 1958.

There is a great deal of cultural information that can be extrapolated from the photos.

The clothing and hairstyles are definitely quite different from those of the present day and the installations and rides are relatively primitive.

The park is relatively uncrowded. I’m amazed at how few people are shown. By comparison, it has been many years since my family went to the park as a group. Though our children enjoyed themselves, I found the visit uncomfortable because I don’t like being crowded. Primitive as it apparently was, I would have enjoyed the 1958 version of the park.

