Annular Solar Eclipse

The Annular Solar Eclipse on May 22, 2012, was an occasion for a motorcycle ride.

Tim Devantier and I rode up to Cedar City, Utah the day before the eclipse and took rooms at the Knight’s Inn on Main Street. An article about the ride itself, Lewis and Clark, I Presume, will appear in a few days, after I have the negatives developed, then scan them.

We scouted the area early in the day for suitable locations to photograph the eclipse, which would occur just before sundown. The map here shows the location where I chose to photograph, near Old Irontown. The red square marks the approximate spot.

As always, click on the thumbnails to view the larger photographs.

I was using my Panasonic Lumix G1 Micro Four Thirds camera and the Tokina 70-210mm manual focus zoom lens from the late 1970s.

