Tahquitz Canyon

I went in for a haircut a few days after publishing the Morning in Joshua Tree and Desert Wildlife posts. The woman who cuts my hair, Carole Engleking, mentioned reading those posts, then said that I should go to Tahquitz Canyon, that it is an excellent place to hike and take photographs.

Carole gave me such a vivid description of the canyon and falls, that I went home and did some research on the Tahquitz Canyon site. In the photo above, Mike Harmon (in red shirt) moves in close for a macro photo.

The canyon is on the edge of both the San Jacinto Mountains and Palm Springs. Though I did extensive backpacking in the San Jacinto Mountains during my 30s and 40s, I had never been to that canyon. 

Tahquitz, like the other Indian Canyons, is on Agua Caliente Cahuilla (Kaw-we-ah) land and administered by the tribe. To the left are yellow Mormon Tea blossoms above Chuparosa.

The photos in this article are from the hike that four of us made on March 24, 2012. They were made on 35mm film, then scanned and resized to fit the Web.

The 2-mile “loop” of hiking trail from the mouth of the canyon to Tahquitz Falls actually contains a double loop, so there is abundant opportunity to wander through various areas of the canyon.

Admittance is $12.50 for adults and $6.00 for children as of March, 2012.

 I lucked out on the scene to the left, the sixty-foot tall Tahquitz Falls. The area in front of the pool is somewhat small and a dozen or so people were standing at the edge of the  pool when I walked up to it. Though not by design, they shifted their relative positions just long enough for me to squeeze off seven frames. Five of the frames didn’t have anyone walking in front of my lens.

