Smoke Tree

This photo was made in June 2010 in Joshua Tree National Park with the Nikon N90s. The N90s is the same camera that Nikon sold as the F90x everywhere in the world except the United States. I don’t know what the reason, or lack thereof, for a US-specific name was, but assume that it was the Marketing Department that pushed that one through the company. It doesn’t have to make any sense, I suppose.

I was shooting Kodak BW400CN, a monochrome film that is developed by the C-41 color process, so it can be developed at any photo lab that develops 35mm color film. I like the look of this film, and Costco is very consistent with the developing process, so I don’t have to send it to a pro lab for processing. I’ve shot several rolls of it over the past three years, most notably for a friend’s wedding. Ilford also makes a chromogenic black and white film, XP-2 Super, which is ISO 400, like the Kodak. I haven’t tried the Ilford film, yet.

After being unavailable for several months, possibly due to last year’s disasters in Asia, I received a flatbed film scanner, the Epson V600, yesterday. This is one of the handful of scans I made today while getting acquainted with the machine. The results I’ve had so far are encouraging. The biggest problem seems to be dust, which makes a certain amount of sense, since I live on the edge of the Mojave Desert. The built-in Digital ICE seems to do a fair job with the dust, and wiping the negatives I recently received from Walmart (which seemed to have a fine layer of dust and fiber deliberately applied) with a microfiber cloth also helped.

