Striping

Late for the sky. Again.

This photo is quite dark, because the world was, well, dark when I made it. As always, click on the thumbnail to see the larger version. In this case, it is really hard to see in thumbnail size.

Yesterday afternoon I walked outside to check the sky and saw beautiful, pink stripes of clouds splayed out against the eastern sky. Knowing that I was seeing the highlight moment of the scene, and that I’d probably missed capturing it, I ran back to the house for equipment anyway. I grabbed the Nikon and tripod, loaded them into the saddlebags, barely let the engine turn over, then rode quickly to Anza Narrows a mile away.

I was right about missing the highlight moment. It was gone by the time I set the equipment up. But I thought this frame, a view to the northwest, was interesting, dark as it was.

