Atlantic Rising

The photos in this post are from a sequence of frames I captured during sunrise on April 9, 2009. It is something of a reprise of the Atlantic Ocean post. While browsing through my archives recently, I looked at the thirtysome photos I made of that sunrise. I thought I had published a handful of the frames from that shoot in 2009, but when I searched for them in past posts, I realized that though I intended to post them, I never had.

I was standing on a upper deck of the cruise ship with the Nikon D200 while the rest of my party, family members, slept. That is a typical situation for a landscape photographer. While other people are engaged in perfectly sensible activities like sleeping in or eating dinner, the landscape photographer is often out in the world, chasing light.

Standing at the railing a few feet away, a woman from the Northeastern U.S. was shooting with a Sony DSLR. If I remember correctly, it was an A300. We talked briefly about how good the light was as the sun slowly climbed above the horizon. I asked her what camera she was using and she showed it to me, in an almost apologetic manner after commenting on what a nice camera the Nikon was.

Her attitude surprised me. I had recently read a few reviews of the A300, reviews that indicated that it was a perfectly good tool. It seemed to me that there was nothing wrong with the camera. It would have been far worse to have been caught viewing that sunrise without any camera. Even if one only had a disposable film camera or a Holga during that sunrise, the situation would have been many magnitudes worse if there was no camera in hand.

At that time, the D200 was a rapidly “aging” DSLR, having been released to the public in 2005. Four years is an eternity in digital camera time. I only had the Nikon due to a series of fortunate accidents. I’m a “bottom feeder” because I’m engaged in contract work that is spotty at best, and I won’t spend any significant amount of money on equipment when what I already have will do what I need it to. But being a bottom feeder is a topic for another post and I won’t waste any more space on that here.

I was somewhat sad that she apparently bought into the consumerism rampant in our society, the idea that we all must have the very newest, most shiny, most sexy, most high-tech products, even though what we have is more than adequate for the tasks at hand.

I’d like to see the photos she made that morning on the Atlantic Ocean, but we were too absorbed with the photographic possibilities of that sunrise and neither of us gave any thought to exchanging email addresses. I’m sure I’d enjoy looking at her frames as much as I like the ones I captured with the Nikon.

