Minus One

This post is about the end of an era, if a couple years can be considered an era. During that two year span I’ve been following Kirk Tuck’s blog, The Visual Science Lab (VSL) fairly closely, because it has been different than the usual photo blog.

Unlike VSL, most of the more widely-read photo blogs are focused on photo technologies rather than the art itself. VSL was a welcome relief from the howling wilderness of gearheaded nit-picking, a shelter from things that are not important except during the infrequent times when one is evaluating equipment, and quite often not even then.

Though he sometimes made language mistakes, and apparently did not proofread his posts at times (something that only other writers would probably notice), Kirk’s writing was accessible, and more often than not, unapologetically human. It was easy to hear his voice emanating from the text. I have every expectation that had I met Kirk through a chance encounter, I would have felt enriched by making his acquaintance.

I liked viewing his portraits, though it is a area of photography that I spend very little time on. I enjoyed his take on the Olympus micro 4/3 cameras and for many of the same reasons, it augmented  (or helped justify) my desire to try the M 4/3 system myself, though I chose to go with a Panasonic model.

Unlike the probable demise of Kodak, which the company has been heading toward for many years by making one mistake after another, The Visual Science Lab died very quickly. Also unlike the long demise of Kodak, there was no foreshadowing. It simply stopped.

Kirk’s reasons for discontinuing VSL are his own and I won’t argue with them, largely because it would have little effect. But I can’t help feel that the online world has been diminished in some small way. I find it sad that the voices of reason now have one less person adding to the chorus.

