Micro 4/3 Lens Adapter

One of the attractions of the Micro Four Thirds system is the ability to use a number of lenses with the proper adapter.   Wait…   A “number of lenses” doesn’t really do justice to it. “Vast” would be a more fitting term. A vast range of lenses.

The adapter in the photo above is the one I just received, and is for adapting my limited collection of Nikon glass. It is a Fotodiox brand Nikon F mount to Micro 4/3 mount adapter. The lens is my Nikon 28mm f/2.8 Series E.

The Fotodiox comes in a small cardboard box (shown above). No instruction are included, but none are needed, since the Nikon F and Micro Four Thirds mounts are noticeably different in size. One simply fits the adapter to the lens (holding down the chrome lever, then releasing the pin), then fits the adapter and lens to the M 4/3rds body as usual. The fit of the unit I have is good: tight, but not too tight. There is no noticeable slop, as users have reported on other manufacturer’s equivalents.

If you have a M 4/3 camera and there are long-unused legacy lenses in your closet, an adapter may be the way for you to use your old favorite Pentax, Leica, Olympus, Canon, Nikon, and/or Minolta, etc., lenses again.

This photo was made using the Nikon 28mm f/2.8 Series E lens. This lens was never super sharp when I used it to shoot film, but it had the right look. On the four thirds sensor, it looks noticeably softer than it did on film, but I kind of like the effect for a portrait like the one shown here.

This photo was made with the Tokina SD 70-210mm f/4 manual zoom lens. I used this lens on the film and digital Nikons.

Happy with the lens at 210mm through the middle range, since it didn’t seem to soften on the G1, I tried this field of view, 70mm, as if it were a macro lens.

I always liked the “look” of this lens, favoring it in many situations over my far higher-tech 18-105mm VR DX zoom, including some sports shooting, despite the manual zoom and focus. I shot a few frames at various apertures and fields of view. It seems to hold its clarity even with the 2X crop factor. Nice.

