Little Beastie

I know what some of you are thinking: “Oh no, not another flower photo”. But look closer.

The beastie on the petals of the Zinna is unknown to me. I was watching for something different, a type of small moth that seems to collect something from the flowers with a long tube attached to its head, a tube that looks like a flexible straw. I haven’t seen that type of moth for about three weeks. But this beastie (there were several of them on the Zinnias), which looks like it might be related to a grasshopper, seems to have taken the place of the moths. I’d like to see those creatures again next year. Perhaps I should buy bulk Zinnia seeds.

Metadata: Lumix G1, 14-45mm kit lens, 1/125 sec., f/5.6, 45mm, ISO 160.

A quick update: The insect in the photo is a Katydid nymph.

