Scottish Highland Games

I learned about the upcoming Scottish Highland Games at work and thought that I’d like to hear the bagpipes. The Games were to be held over the coming weekend, June 25-26, 2011, in Vista, California, down south in San Diego County. I’ve always loved hearing the pipes, and though a recording will do in a pinch, there’s nothing like standing nearby when the pipes are moving the air around.

As bagpipe appreciation goes, there are generally two types of people; those who love them and those who hate them. My wife Lisa is one of the latter, so when I mentioned the festival to her as a weekend destination, she surprised me and seconded the motion. I expected to be going by myself, but Lisa wanted to see the sheepdogs working and is usually up for a festival.

