The Darkroom @ Division 9

FlyerThis post is for local film shooters. There is a new source for film cameras and accessories, 35mm and 120 film, film processing, print processing materials, darkroom rentals, and film workshops in the Inland Empire. The Darkroom @ Division 9 is located in the Division 9 Gallery at 3850 Lemon Street, Riverside, California. The phone number for the business is (310) 997-8110. I lifted the flyer photo from The Darkroom’s FaceBook page at The Darkroom at Division 9.

An Opening Reception will be held on March 15, 2013 at 7:00 pm. The Opening Reception will include a Film-Only Print Hanging featuring local Riverside Photographers.

Because of a somewhat convoluted series of events, Derek, the author of Straight, No Chaser, kindly put me in touch with Dan, the owner of The Darkroom @ Division 9. Because of those convoluted events, a point-and-shoot film camera that Derek gave away to my grandson, turned into a Minolta X-700 SLR from The Darkroom @ Division 9. Thanks, Derek.

The Darkroom has a fascinating (to me, at least) display case of mostly 35mm film cameras for sale, primarily SLRs and Rangefinders. When I was in the shop a couple days ago, Dan showed me a number of the film cameras, including the Minolta mentioned above.

I spotted a Canon FT that will probably be the human equivalent of catnip to my daughter-in-law Amber, if she see it. There was also a Canon rangefinder that I’d like to pick up for myself. My fascination is no doubt due in part to the fact that there is no longer any other local place specializing in film cameras, to my knowledge.

It is good to again see a business dedicated to the needs of local film shooters. There are plenty of us around here and our ranks are growing. I wish Dan very good luck with this business venture.

